The Power of Reading Aloud

Teacher reading to 3rd grade students. I don’t know why I am so surprised but I love how students love being read too! But, when I think about it, doesn’t everyone? Look how recorded audio books are selling and how many titles are available to listen to now.

Last Friday, two third grade classes came into the library to check-out books. As soon as they were finished they began bringing chairs over to one of the third grade teachers, Mrs. Grady. The children are into Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark. They were all huddled around waiting for her to begin. She is a master reader … she knows just how to change her voice and tenor to match each story. They were spellbound!

I just love to see this ‘love of reading’ by both the teacher and the students. Oh, the power of a good story!

I hope you find someone to read to or listen to. Sharing books is a great way to connect with a friend or someone special.

Happy Reading!

Mrs. Chase

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *